Fried Pickles vs. Hostess Twinkie

The Battle

I’m not a nutritionist, far from it, but when it comes to a choice for snacking between fried pickles and a Hostess Twinkie I’m fairly certain the Twinkie is better for me.  In fact I’d guess in a toe-to-toe battle the Twinkie would leave the greasy green contender in the dust.  To be fair I decided to get the facts.

English: Fried pickles, an american dish in Li...

vs.

English: Hostess Twinkies. Yellow snack cake w...

The Background Info

First, if you have never had a fried pickle you haven’t experienced culinary genius.  Sure, there’s fried dough, fried candy bars, and even fried beer but for sheer lack of nutrition I am thinking nothing beats frying a pickle.  The first ones I saw were years ago in a barbecue joint.  Happily it’s far enough away I’m not tempted to go back: unfortunately there is something compelling about the need to eat fried pickles.

Yummy! Fried pickles, Dixie Cafe style. Arkansas

Everyone has their special take.  I prefer plain ‘ol fried hamburger dill chips but others like whole kosher pickles, some quarter the pickle into long spears and  just last weekend I had pickles that were thinly sliced lengthwise.  It’s your choice how you choose to ruin your body.

Back to the comparison.  It was hard to get a good nutritional take on fried pickles.  The numbers I got varied widely.  For instance calories: one website said 660 and another 174. I’m guessing a lot had to do with portion size but couldn’t really get a handle on what a good single size portion would be.  Personally I’ll eat whatever you bring to the table and call it a single size.    In an attempt to make this a semi-fair contest I’m using the smaller numbers.

The Caveats

  • Ranch Dressing seems to be the dip of choice for the pickles, that’s why I included those numbers
  • I used numbers that are assumed to be a single serving for both pickles and Twinkies – if you eat more than that – well that’s your weight problem
  • Protein in a pickle, really?  Where did that protein number come from for the pickle?  I can’t imagine where the protein is hiding, maybe in the breaded coating, but to be open-minded I looked at a couple of sources – they ranged from 0 to the 6 grams listed.  I used the higher number just to give the pickle a bit of help in this nutrition throw down.

 The Actual Comparison

Fat

Sodium

Carbohydrate

Fiber

Protein

Ranch Dressing

Fried Pickle

21

4

330

1221

3

30

0

2

1

6

Hostess Twinkie

4.5

220

27

0

1

RDA 2000 calorie/day

65

2400

300

25

50

 

Sadly, My conclusion

The pickle definitely wins in the Fiber category but even I can see the lack of wisdom in eating over ½ a day’s sodium just to get two grams of fiber; that is what carrots and oatmeal are for.  These are not numbers that would make a dietician jump for joy, more likely scream in despair, but it does appear that for a snack the Hostess Twinkie is the better choice of the two options; plus it costs less and is sold in a lot more locations.  It’s so sad because I do love fried pickles, even crave them, but apparently unless I want to die from extreme hypertension I need to avoid them at all cost.

Until next time – to the store for more Twinkies!  I must go!

Box of Twinkies


6 Comments on “Fried Pickles vs. Hostess Twinkie”

  1. Ruth Dunham says:

    I vote for fried pickles! Love this “scientific” post ! What about bananas dipped in melted butter followed by a roll in cornflake crumbs and then baked? Ever try bananas covered in mayonnaise and then rolled in chopped peanuts? So many treats and choices …….

  2. Ruth Dunham says:

    Last night our son’s friend saw an attractive young woman at a local grill. He ordered a fried pickle appetizer to be sent to her table. It worked; she smiled and thanked him and he got her phone number! I think that was much cooler than buying her a beer.


Leave a Reply

