Fall Food is Coming!

 

Fall Food is Coming!  I need a megaphone so I can run up and down the street letting everyone know – Fall Food is Coming!

sweater

(Photo credit: saxarocks)

It was 56 degrees this morning – time to pull out the woolen sweaters.  Yes, I do live in the South and 56 is chilly. Perhaps a heavy sweater is a bit too dramatic; a long sleeve shirt will work.  I would say layered but it warms up pretty quickly so a long sleeve shirt that you can roll up the sleeves would be best; then you don’t have to carry that 2nd piece of clothing around with you.

Food – This Blog is Supposed to Be About Food Not Fashion

But clothing is not what this blog is about – it’s about food – random thoughts about food.   Let me random you this – roast with potatoes, carrots, onions and fragrant spices.  Soup:  soup sounds good too.  With Christmas trees already in some stores it’s probably too late to be thinking harvest treats like popcorn balls and caramel apples but they are on my mind right now.  It feels good to stand in the kitchen look out the window and anticipate the fall colors soon to arrive on the trees.  It’s also good to contemplate the end of mowing the lawn for the year.

The Book of Ecclesiastes comes to mind – and with that Pete Seeger.  To everything there is a season.  After the long hot summer we’ve had this upcoming season with its earthy scents like pumpkin and sage is overdue.  I’m taking a deep breath here in anticipation of smells to come.

Yes today is random day.  I’m leafing through cookbooks searching for fall inspiration and yes it is more fun to look at cookbooks and then use the internet to find variations on an interesting recipe.

An Old Fall Food Favorite

Here’s an old favorite I need to mix up and enjoy while I read.

Russian Tea – for relaxing and sharing with friends

russian tea mix

(Photo credit: heatherknitz)

1 Cup Sugar

1/2 Cup Instant Tea

1 pkg lemonade mix (my original recipe called for Wyler’s – I’m sure Kool-Aid would work just as well)

1 small jar Tang or 1/3 of a 27 oz. jar)

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

½ tsp. ground cloves

As you have surmised this recipe makes more than 1 teacup full and needs to be stored in a jar with a tight-fitting lid.  Back in the day, the 70’s, it was popular to make this mix up and put in mason jars to use as gifts.  Humm – I wonder if anyone does that anymore. FYI: You would need about 2 tsp. for a single cup of tea.

Almost Twin Breads

Oddly in my recipe card file book I have Pumpkin Bread and Zucchini Bread stored in the same slot.  After reading them I can see why.  They are virtually the same recipe except for the summer vegetable zucchini or the fall/winter pumpkin.  The summer squash treat gets vanilla while the dark delicious gourd version has nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon.  Interesting?  I wonder if I realized that when I put the recipes away or if I had just run out of spaces.

All that aside I’ll be camping this weekend so anticipate a few rounds of S-mores before crawling into the sleeping bag.  Life is good – even if a bit random today.

English: A S'mores made with a half a Hershey'...

Will life be less random next week?  I don’t know.  If you’d like to know sign up on the right to receive an email when new thoughts will be  posted.

 

Leave a Reply

